Young Himatangi Bowling Club Bowler Wins Title

Twelve-year-old Taylor Broughton is heading to his first national bowls final. The youngster from the Castlecliff club showed skill and composure beyond his years at the weekend’s Kittyhawk singles regional qualifying event at Gonville.

Despite facing players with far greater experience, Taylor battled through six rounds of competition over two days to finish ninth.

Only the top eight go through to the final of the under-20 tournament, which will be held in Auckland over Easter. However, second-placed Wellington prospect Euan Wong is so highly-regarded that he has been given a wildcard to the final, meaning ninth was good enough to put Taylor through.

Wanganui’s two other contestants at Gonville failed to make the cut.

With the top four girls heading to the final, Aramoho’s Natalya Johnson was unlucky to finish fifth, while Marton’s Te Rau Kere Kere, aged 12, came in 10th.

The girls competition was won by 15-year-old Sophie Fisher from the small Himitangi Beach club near Foxton, while Jordan Linn from West End in Taranaki won the boys event.

Wanganui Kittyhawk manager Joy Lynch was delighted with the local effort. “They were up against much more experienced players, some of whom have been to the nationals six times,” said Lynch. “The Wanganui bowlers looked very promising and we can look forward to seeing them improve.”

The next showcase for young bowlers will be the secondary school regional qualifier in Wanganui in April.

Meanwhile, Wanganui has named its team for regional inter-centre playoffs at Naenae Bowling Club, Wellington, on Saturday.

Singles: Clint Park; Pairs: Bruce Winterburn (s), Tony McCrae; Fours: Sean Johnson (s), Ray Park, Ray Savage, Alan Dickson. Manager: Bill Gannon.

Singles: Dianne Patterson; Pairs: Glenis Pidwell (s), Vivien Bishop; Fours: Anne Loveridge (s), Rona O’Shea, Marlene Foster, Lesley Bourke. Manager: Michael Bishop.

The men’s masters rep squad to play in Manawatu on March 19-20 is:

Singles: Allyn Bradley; Pairs: John Dick(s), Neville Grant; Triples: Roger Neilson (s), Robbie Robertson, Peter Raymond; Fours: Dave Anderson (s), Selwyn Prescott, Tony Herbert, Ken Bates. Manager: Colin Cox.

Article kindly sourced from the Wanganui Chronicle