Hyundai National Champs Entry Forms

Entry Forms and details about the National Champs to be held in Taranaki, have been published.

Bowls NZ Nationals

The Entry Form is available at


Entry forms for the NZ Open

Entry forms are available for the NZ Open and Disabled NZ Open, to be held in Auckland.

The Trusts New Zealand Open 2012, with a total prize pool of $32,000, will be played at bowling clubs across Auckland.

Qualify for The Trusts New Zealand Open and take on the best of the best. The qualifying event will be played from 8th-10th November and is open to all affiliated bowlers.

Bowlers successful in qualifying will win through to the main draw of the event, to be held 11th–16th November.



Christmas Bowls

We all know the great fun, relaxing and enjoyable game bowls is, so why not share the joy? Christmas Bowls involves renting your club out for Christmas Events where those who come along can also enjoy a game of bowls.

Bowls has something unique which no-one else can offer, so make sure you let people know about it, and share it! Bowls New Zealand can help you to promote your clubs Christmas Bowls at no cost to you, all you need to do is use the logo.

New President for Bowls Manawatu

Phil Skoglund was elected today as the new president of Bowls Manawatu. In the annual general meeting held at the Palmerston North Bowling Clubrooms, Phil took over the reigns from Tony Jensen, the departing president. Anthony Woodley from Ashurst and Lyn Elphick from Takaro were elected vice-presidents. Also elected on the board were Norah Bacon, Noeleen Elston, Sharon Sims, Terry Puklowski, Vern Sixtus and Stewart McGrail. A special presentation was made to the former secretary, Irene Reilly for her contribution to Bowls Manawatu.

Palmerston North Bowling Club wishes the new Executive and President the best of the luck for the new season.

Secondary Schools Results

Resullts of Secondary School Competitions 2012 held at Bowls Heretaunga Complex on Sat and Sun 7 & 8th July.

Girls Pairs. 1st Caitlin Thomson & Sophie Fisher Palmerston North High – Manawatu.
2nd. Anastasia Smith & Nicole Holdem – Gisborne Girls High. Poverty Bay
Reserve, Lisa Simmonsen & S.Lange Hastings Girls High – Hawkes Bay.

Boys Pairs. 1st Ryan Douglas & Cameron Hudson Gisborne Boys High – Poverty Bay. 2nd Damien Holder & Jake Woolford – Wairarapa College – Wairarapa.

Reserve – Nil.

Girls Singles 1st Tianna White – Hukarere College – Hawkes Bay. 2nd Adele Critchlow – St. Matthews School – Wairarapa. Reserve – Heidi McLaughlan. Palmerston Nth Girls High – Manawatu.

Boys Singles 1st Richard Hocking. – Taradale Hight School – Hawkes Bay. 2nd Dean Drummond – Hastings Boys High – Hawkes Bay. Reserve – Patrick Sims – Palmerston Nth Boys High – Manawatu.

BowlsNZ National Awards

This is just a reminder that the National Bowls Awards are fast approaching.

Nominations will close on 16 July 2012 for the categories of: Centre of the Year
Club of the Year
Player of the Year
Coach of the Year
Administrator of the Year
Official of the Year
Young Player of the Year
Green Keeper of the Year
Media Award
Volunteer of the Year

Send your submissions to:
POST: PO Box 62502, Greenlane, Auckland 1546,