Club Newsletter – April


It is now closing in on the end of the season and reminding you that our closing day is Saturday 11th May. At present it is proposed that it will be a meal with a band to follow at 7.30pm. TICKETS can be purchased from the bar or office
at $18 each.

One factor is that all trophies to be returned in good nick. Nice and shiny please!!

A sponsors ‘thank you’ night has been arranged for Friday 3 May 2013 6 p.m. – 8 p.m. It is hoped members will attend and mingle with our sponsors.

Also a reminder that the midweek AGM is at 1.30pm on Tuesday May 14th at 1.30pm and then our club’s AGM on Sunday 26th May also at 1.30pm.
As you can see by the nomination board in the lounge there are too many vacancies to be filled. This is one time for the club to show its strength and have an active committee to see us through the next season. We urge you to give this serious thought and have pro-active members to guide us through. While many think being on committees is too onerous a task, we all have a responsibility to participate and be part of a strong club.

CONGRATULATIONS go out to those who were successful during the season and notably our Division two team in the national inter club finals. They were Dean Gilshnan, John Pene, Brian Grammer, Trevor Butcher, Colin Cherri, Rex Stokes and Paul Rowe with Brian Henn the manager.

Dean followed this success by combining with Pat Horgan to win the Specsavers Open men’s pairs over Adam Johnston and Scotty McGavin.

Rex Stokes was runner-up to Terry Puklowski in the C of C over 65yrs singles while John O’Connor and Colin Cherri won the over 65yrs C of C pairs.
John O’Connor continued his winning way with a narrow win in our club’s points day. He had 49pts, followed by Barbara Healy and Craig Morgan with 47pts, Meg Forno with 46pts and Anne Ayers with 45pts.

Commiserations to John Leahy and Jacko Stephens for a near miss 17-18 in the 1-2 yrs pairs to Himitangi Beach. Eva Heinrich went out in the semi finals of the women’s singles.

Twilight Bowls resulted in a popular victory to Basil Parkinson. He won the revised countback from Paul Joe, Craig Morgan and John Pene, with Anne Horne fifth In the Skoglund competition Palmerston North Division 1 went to Palmerston North, Division 2 to Foxton Beach with Palmerston North Gold 4th and in Division 3 Johnston Park won with Palmerston North Green 2nd.
The Elizabeth Walker competition was won by Foxton & Beach.

CHICKEN FRIDAY results were: 22nd March: Joan Ware, Ross Gibson and Judy Cooksley 1st, Ted Hodgson, Ian Darvill and Ron Paddy 2nd, Ian Crichton, Jeff Jeffrey and Craig Morgan 3rd.
5th April: John O’Connor, Ross Gibson and Craig Morgan 1st, Stan Wells, Paul Joe, Elma Signal 2nd, Meg Forno, Ian Darvill, Jean Rutherford 3rd.
12th April: Willie Young, Ross Gibson, Graeme Duncan 1st, John O’Connor, Stan Wells, Grant Lassen 2nd.

Terrace End 2x4x2 Pairs on 21 April 2013 was won by Trevor Butcher (S) and Eric Cairncross.